The National Science Foundation (NSF) has announced that the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) will operate a new center to provide seafloor seismographs and technical support to the U.S. academic community beginning in August 1, 2018. The new Ocean Bottom Seismograph Instrument Center (OBSIC) will be housed at WHOI under a 5-year cooperative agreement, with John Collins serving as Director. The OBSIC replaces the Ocean Bottom Seismograph Instrument Pool. This OBSIP website is no longer updated and will be removed in July 2019.


The OBSIP facility is constituted by the following organizations:

  • National Science Foundation Division of Ocean Sciences (NSF OCE)
  • Institutional Instrument Contributors (IIC's)
    • Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
    • Scripps Institution of Oceanography
    • Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
  • OBSIP Management Office (OMO)

    • Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS)
  • OBSIP Oversight Committee (OC)

    • Committee chair and six additional volunteer members from marine seismology and broader research communities (IRIS Governance Page)

Additional OBSIP Stakeholders include NSF Division of Earth Sciences (NSF EAR) and the University-National Oceanographic Laboratory System (UNOLS).

The coordinated efforts of OBSIP are focused on providing instrumentation and science support to all interested scientists (Principal Investigators (PI's)) conducting geophysical experiments.


OBSIP Communications Protocol