Contacts

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has announced that the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) will operate a new center to provide seafloor seismographs and technical support to the U.S. academic community beginning in August 1, 2018. The new Ocean Bottom Seismograph Instrument Center (OBSIC) will be housed at WHOI under a 5-year cooperative agreement, with John Collins serving as Director. The OBSIC replaces the Ocean Bottom Seismograph Instrument Pool. This OBSIP website is no longer updated and will be removed in July 2019.

Primary Contact - OBSIP Management Office

Bob Woodward
Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS)
1200 New York Avenue, NW, Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005
woodward@iris.edu
Telephone (202) 407-7001

OBSIP Data Questions

Kasey Aderhold
OBSIP Management Office
Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS)
1200 New York Avenue, NW, Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005
kasey@iris.edu
Telephone (202) 407-7019

Proposal Specific Questions - NSF

Candace Major
Program Director
National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230
cmajor@nsf.gov
Telephone: (703) 292-7597

Community Feedback - OBSIP Oversight Committee

Anne Sheehan
OBSIP Oversight Committee Chair
University of Colorado Boulder
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences
216 UCB Boulder, CO 80309
anne.sheehan@colorado.edu
Telephone: (303) 492-4597

DMC Data Questions

Tim Ahern
Program Manager
IRIS Data Management Center
1408 NE 45th Street, Suite 201, Seattle, WA 98105-4505
tim@iris.washington.edu
Telephone: (206) 547-0393

Instrument Questions - Institutional Instrument Centers

Questions about LDEO Instruments

Andrew Barclay
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University
61 Route 9W, Palisades, NY 10964-8000
barclay@ldeo.columbia.edu
Telephone: (845) 365-8364

Questions about SIO Instruments

Jeff Babcock
Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
9500 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, CA 92093-0225
obsip-sio@ucsd.edu
Telephone: (858) 534-5223

Questions about WHOI Instruments

John Collins
Department of Geology and Geophysics
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
360 Woods Hole Rd., Woods Hole, MA 02543-1542
jcollins@whoi.edu
Telephone: (508) 289-2733